甚麼是K'NEX?

K'Nex係美國人Joel Glickman發明的創新建構玩具系統,由位於賓州海特菲爾(Hatfield)的K'Nex Industries Inc. 公司所設計製造,於1992年首次在美國推出。

玩具的建構系統是由連接塑膠棒、連接器、積木、齒輪、輪子以及其他組件所構成,可透過拼接方式組成各式各樣的模型、機器和建築結構。

K'Nex可建構出無數的創意作品,因為多種不同的組件能以不同的角度和方向相互連接,從小型奶牛造型、完整的桌子組到雲霄飛車等許多各式大小的物品和新奇裝置均可拼接組裝,由於K'Nex的組件是由堅固的塑膠製成並相互連接,這些建構作品通常很堅固。

K'NEX榮獲逾430項的國際獎項與表彰,儼然成為適用各年齡層兒童與技術能力的全球領先整合式建構系統,K'NEX持續關注「發展全球兒童之愛(Building Worlds Kids Love)」並鼓勵兒童「想像、建造與遊戲」。

為何使用K’NEX Education®?

STEM建構玩具

K’NEX Education®提供各式各樣的STEM建構玩具,在課堂上或家中使用都非常適合,各年齡層與技術能力的男孩和女孩都能藉由這些建構玩具提升STEM主題的相關知識,包括動手做、探究式學習(Hands-on、inquiry-based learning),STEM是科學(Science)、技術(Technology)、工程(Engineering)和數學(Mathematics)的英文縮寫,透過全球知名教師所撰寫和經測試的教師指南和課程計畫,幾乎在所有的K’NEX Education建構玩具組中都能輕鬆發現此課程概念。

STEM 概念—發現、探索、思考、解決

K'NEX 教育性建構玩具透過動手解決問題、發現、探索式學習以及批判式思考傳授STEM概念,K’NEX Education®產品均符合美國和英國的國家標準,使學生在建立、探究、解決問題、討論以及評估科學和設計原理時,須面對探究式課程所帶來的挑戰。

各年齡層的男孩和女孩在與其他小朋友一起玩K'Nex的過程中,還能學習到寶貴的社交技巧,隨年齡增長,這些技巧將使其在真實世界中獲益良多,他們將學習如何與其他小朋友分享,以及如何合作完成共同目標。
 

提供各年級適用的建構玩具

從學前班到高中三年級,我們一路相伴,K’NEX Education®提供3D STEM學習工具,能吸引並激發各年齡層學生的興趣,各年級的STEM教育工作者都喜愛K’NEX Education®建構玩具,因為它們能幫助小朋友提升身體的敏捷度、精細的運動神經能力以及空間意識。

Kid K’NEX 幼童建構玩具賦予孩子們在STEM中的優勢永遠不嫌早(Kid K'NEX®的組件更大、更柔軟,比經典的 K'NEX 連接棒、連接器更大塊,專為學前班兒童的小巧雙手所開發),當男孩和女孩將以色彩劃分的連接棒、連接器卡合在一起時,能創造多種不同啟發自具有真正用途的真實世界機器之活動式教育模型。

為教師節省時間

K’NEX Education®系列的每項產品均附有綜合教師指南、課程計畫以及追蹤工作的建議,易於遵循的色彩劃分操作說明讓老師能指導學生以獨立或小組形式進行作業,大部分的K’NEX Education®產品均附有能以光碟機讀取的教師指南。此外,帶有關鍵術語、定義、工作流程等等的綜合課程計畫可在線上查看和下載。

這些課程材料詳述了如何將K'NEX整合至課程中教授如簡單機器、空間探索、分數、勢能和動能、測量等概念,包含多種K'NEX組件和操作說明的便利性,能讓多位學生同時建構並學習。
 

減少接觸螢幕的時間—帶來更多的幸福感
無論是電腦、智慧型手機、平板電腦、電視、電玩或其他具有螢幕的產物,現在的孩子總是沉浸在發出亮光的數位螢幕中,雖然有人認為技術有助於兒童發展,但業界專家暗示花太多時間在螢幕上可能導致想像力下降,而且研究發現在2-17歲之間接觸螢幕的時間越多與幸福感降低有關,事實上,小孩子都熱愛動手建構和操作,所以讓孩子放下手機和平板電腦,開始建構吧!K'Nex玩具能讓孩子們做出任何造型,K'Nex具有無限可能性,可建構出與同儕攀比的雲霄飛車、賽車,或是能產生再生能源的風車,每項產品組均附有易於遵循的逐步操作說明,讓建構者能輕鬆打造生動有趣的模型,建構某物能為孩子們建立自尊與自信,這不僅證明了他們付出的創造力終有收穫,還能鼓勵他們發揮更多創意。

閱讀更多:

- The Independent (UK): How Screen Time is Killing Children's Imagination 

- TIME (US): How to limit screen time and coach imagination to our kids


為學生未來的工作做好準備

科學、技術、工程和數學工作者在我國經濟的持續成長與穩定中扮演關鍵角色,STEM工作數量的增長速率比非STEM工作更快,研究發現,STEM工作者能賺取更高的薪水,在薪資方面比非STEM工作者高出26%

在孩子年紀小的時候透過建構K’NEX教育產品和發展這類型的STEM技能,不僅能賦予其競爭優勢,還可以引領他們邁向成功的道路。

使用K’NEX學習各式各樣的主題,如DNA複製、物理學、幾何學、機器人學以及能量與運動、風能、水能和太陽能等力量,展現近乎無限的可能性!從客廳到會議室,能為打造明日的領導者付出一份心力是我們的驕傲!
 

環保優質玩具—美國製造

K'NEX在位於賓州的環保工廠中製造連接棒與連接器,雖然大部分的產品都在海外製造,但K’NEX仍致力於美國設計和製造,自1992年以來,生產超過390億個K'NEX建構玩具系統的組件。

K’NEX是一間打造活動式寓教於樂體驗且富有想像力的公司,我們透過連接科學、工程、藝術和想像力之方式,為全世界擁有渴望想法且喜愛和享受挑戰創意極限的男孩和女孩設計教育性建構玩,努力推動充滿趣味的想像力!

obama61354305250.jpg
歐巴馬於2012年11月拜訪K'NEX位於賓州海特菲爾(Hatfield)的工廠,展現對美國製造公司的支持。(Photo from: Washington Post)

What is K'NEX?

K'Nex is an innovative construction toy system invented by American Joel Glickman. It was first introduced in America in 1992. K'Nex is designed and produced by K'Nex Industries Inc. of Hatfield, Pennsylvania.

The toy's building system consists of interlocking plastic rods, connectors, blocks, gears, wheels, and other components, which can be pieced together to form a wide variety of models, machines, and architectural structures. 

K'Nex can be used to construct innumerable creations because many different pieces can interlock at different angles and directions. From miniature cows to complete table sets to roller coasters, many objects and contraptions in various sizes can be constructed. Because K'Nex pieces are made of a strong plastic and interlock, these constructs are usually quite sturdy.

Winner of over 430 international awards and recognitions, K'NEX has become one of the world's leading integrated construction systems for children of every age group and skill level. K'NEX continuously focuses on "Building Worlds Kids Love", and encourages youngsters to "IMAGINE, BUILD and PLAY."

Why build with K’NEX Education®?

STEM Building Toys

K’NEX Education® offers a wide variety of STEM building toys that are ideal for both classroom or home use. Boys and girls of all ages and skill levels can boost their knowledge of STEM subjects with these building toys that include hands-on, inquiry-based learning opportunities. STEM, which stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, curriculum concepts are easy to find in almost every K’NEX Education building toys set through teacher guides and lesson plans written and tested by renowned educators in classrooms across the globe.

STEM Concepts - Discover, Explore, Think, Solve

The K'NEX educational building toys teach STEM concepts through hands-on problem-solving, discovery, exploratory learning and critical thinking. K’NEX Education® products are aligned to the US and UK national standards, and the inquiry-based lessons challenge students as they build, investigate, problem solve, discuss and evaluate scientific and design principles in action. 

By playing K'Nex with other children, boys and girls of all ages will also learn valuable social skills that will benefit them in the real world as they get older. They’ll learn how to share with other kids as well as how to work together to accomplish a common goal.

Delivering Across All Grade Levels

From Pre-K through 12th grade, we’re with you every step of the way. K’NEX Education® provides 3D STEM learning tools to engage and excite students of all ages. STEM educators of all grade levels love K’NEX Education® building toys since they can help kids to develop their physical dexterity, fine motor skills, and spatial awareness.

 

It’s never too early to start giving kids an edge in STEM with Kid K’NEX toddler building toys. (Kid K'NEX® parts are larger, softer, and chunkier than classic K'NEX rods and connectors, specifically developed for pre-schoolers' little hands). As boys and girls click the color-coded rods and connectors together, they can create a multitude of different moving educational models, inspired by real-world machines that have real-world applications. 

Save Time for Teachers 
Every product from the K’NEX Education® line comes with a comprehensive teacher’s guide, complete with lesson plans as well as suggestions for follow-up work. The easy to follow color-coded instructions grant teachers the ability to direct students to work independently or in groups. The teacher’s guides are available on CD-ROM with a majority of K’NEX Education® products. Furthermore, comprehensive lesson plans with key terms, definitions, workflows, and more are available online to view and download.


These curriculum materials detail how to integrate K'NEX into lessons to teach concepts such as simple machines, space exploration, fractions, potential and kinetic energy, measurement, and more. They conveniently contain multiple K'NEX parts and instructions so multiple students can build and study at the same time.

Less Screen Time - Greater Well-Being
Whether it’s computers, smartphones, tablets, televisions, video games, or something else, kids these days are always burying their faces in the bright light of a digital screen. But while some argue that technology can support child development, industry experts suggest that too much screen time could in fact result in a loss of imagination. What's more, studies have found that more hours of screen time are associated with lower well-being in ages 2 to 17. Kids actually LOVE to build and work with their hands. So get your child to put down their phones and tablets and start building! K'Nex toys allow your child to make anything possible. The possibilities are endless with K'Nex. They can build a roller coaster, a race car to compete with their peers, or a windmill that produces renewable energy. The easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions that are included in every one of our sets make it easy for builders to bring their models to life. When your child is able to build something, this builds self-esteem and confidence. It shows your child that their creativity pays off and encourages them to be more creative.

Read more:

- The Independent (UK): How Screen Time is Killing Children's Imagination 

- TIME (US): How to limit screen time and coach imagination to our kids


Prepare Students for the Jobs of the Future
Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics workers play a vital role in the continued growth and stability of our country’s economy. The amount of STEM jobs available are growing at a much faster rate than non-STEM jobs. Studies have found that people that work in STEM earn higher pay, receiving 26 percent more in wages than their non-STEM counterparts. 

 

By building with K’NEX educational products and developing these types of STEM skills at a such a young age, kids will already have a leg up on the competition and put themselves on the path to success.


Use K’NEX to learn about a wide variety of topics such as DNA replication, physics, geometry, robotics, forces like energy and motion, as well as wind, water, and solar energy. The possibilities are virtually limitless! From the living room to the boardroom, we are proud to help build the leaders of tomorrow!

Eco-friendly, High Quality Toys - Made in the USA

K'NEX manufactures rods and connectors at an eco-friendly facility located in Pennsylvania. While a majority of toy products are produced overseas, at K’NEX, we are dedicated to designing and manufacturing in the United States of America, producing more than 39 billion parts for the K'NEX building toy system since 1992.


K’NEX is the imagination company building moving edutainment experience. We design our educational building toys for hungry minds of boys and girls everywhere who love and enjoy pushing the boundaries of creativity, by connecting science, engineering, art and imagination. We strive to move fun-powered imaginations forward!

obama61354305250.jpg
Obama visits the K'NEX facility  in Hatfield, Pennsylvania to show support for American manufacturing companies in November, 2012. (Photo from: Washington Post)